Posted by: ken98 | September 17, 2009

The Gospel according to Mark

Day 5
This is Mark, the presumed co-partner in this endeavour. I haven’t cracked open my ivory leather bound volume (one of six) with the gilt pages. I’ve rarely taken this boxed set from the Folio Society in Britain down from the oak shelves they sit upon so pleasingly.

I like books as beautiful objects almost as much as the contents. Sometimes more. I have two beautifully illustrated and bound volumes of Icelandic Sagas with gilt covers, etc. I’ll probably never read them.

Anyway thanks Ken for setting up this blog for us. We’ll see how successful I am at reading Gibbon. His language is a bit convoluted and archaic. I’ll try to read some tonight. I’m feeling much better today after my rollerblade accident on Sunday (9/13). I can walk without much pain though that’s also due to the oxycodone. Bye for now. Mark

Leave a Reply

Categories

